Mozart Piano Concertos Vol. 1


Piano Concerto No 6 in B flat major K238
Piano Concerto No 8 in C major 'Lützow’ K246
Piano Concerto No 9 in E flat major 'Jeunehomme’ K271

The twenty-seven concertos for piano and orchestra contain some of the composer’s greatest achievements. Concertos Nos 6 and 8, two of the young Mozart’s earliest attempts at the genre, display a perfection of form and an elegant purity. Concerto No 9, the ‘Jeunehomme’, remarkably written in 1777 when Mozart was 21, is considered to be the composer’s first great masterpiece. The result of this creative outburst was a monument of musical originality and inventive orchestration. As the American critic Michael Steinberg aptly put it, in this concerto ‘Mozart, so to speak, became Mozart’.

In these interpretations Angela Hewitt displays her characteristic elegance and innate musicality. She is supported by the impeccably refined playing of the Orchestra da Camera di Mantova and the disc includes a personal and illuminating note by the pianist.

The long-awaited first volume in a complete cycle of Mozart Piano Concertos.

“Judging from this first example, it's going to be a journey as revelatory as her exploration of all the major keyboard works of Bach.” (The Observer, London)

“Some magical Mozart here from Angela Hewitt, who directs the Orchestra da Camera di Mantova with aplomb, zest, and most of all, style.” (International Piano Magazine)

“Angela Hewitt's attention to detail is immaculate.” (The Guardian)

“Hewitt is a spry Mozartian.” (The Irish Times)